McDowell races to late Model Xr Super Series victory and Madden wins $100,000 bonus to close Karl Kustoms Bristol Dirt Nationals


Veteran racer Dale McDowell earned the $50,000 payday on Saturday night for winning the XR Super Series Late Models 50-lap race to cap off a solid two weeks of racing at the Karl Kustoms Bristol Dirt Nationals.

In other races tonight at Bristol Motor Speedway, Brandon Gibson Jr. won the Hornets Feature, Jody Knowles won the 604 Late Model Feature and Michael Asberry took the Open Modified victory.

The other big winner of the night didn’t win a checkered flag, but he took home the biggest check. Super Late Model runner-up Chris Madden claimed the $100,000 XR Super Late Model Series bonus for earning the most points during the four-race, two-weekend event. Together with his two wins, second place, 12th place and the series bonus, that brings Madden’s two-week earnings total to over $230,000.

Madden won his qualifying race but was penalized two points for an infraction discovered during post-race inspection. He started 12th in the feature and had to fight his way forward to get the $100,000.

“It’s pretty awesome, we got over a mountain tonight and came back and did what we had to do to get the bonus,” Madden said. “We had to take a two-point hit and start 12th and that says a lot about my team and how well we can bounce back. Our car was good enough to get us back in and that says a lot for our team. I never doubted that we could do it. Our car, our team is in a great position to be able to win races and get things done.

It was McDowell’s second victory at Bristol, as he also took the Super Late Model victory in 2000 the first time BMS was converted to a dirt track.

“It’s unbelievable, we’ve had a really good year,” McDowell said. “I can’t thank the guys working on this thing enough because they made it easy for me. This one is for old people. It’s great to be back here in Bristol 22 years later. We had a little mishap and had to change the front sprockets while the B-Main was going. I have to thank God for making all of this possible.

Chris Ferguson was third, Scott Bloomquist was fourth and Jimmy Owens was fifth. NASCAR Cup champion Kyle Larson won his qualifying race and qualified well, but had a problem early in the event and finished 21st.

Kyle Strickler set a track record in his heat race victory with a best lap time of 14.879 seconds at a speed of 128.96 mph, but fell to 14th in the feature. Mike Marlar also had a solid car in the heat race, but crashed in turn four when a tire fell out. The accident totaled his car and he had to retire the backup car for the function and eventually finished 24th.

In Open Modified, Michael Asberry, a native of Crossville, Tennessee, took the victory in 30 laps, his third victory of the week. Asberry held off Kyle Strickler, Clay Harris, Zach Johnson and Mitch Thomas for the win.

“It was awesome,” Asberry said. “We have been working on the car every day for the past two months. The track felt faster to me this year, it was really smooth there. Just being here and saying you won in Bristol is a big deal.

Gibson, of Dry Ridge, Ky., battled his way forward in the Hornets’ 30-lap final and took the lead on lap 14 and he held on for the win.

“It felt really good on the center of the corner,” Gibson said. “I started from the back every race this week. I’ve been really good at being patient and not trying to win on the first lap. This deal is a different animal. This track is so fast, This is very fun.

John Windham, Brandon Dalton, Walker Windham and Jake Benischek complete the top five.
Knowles, of Tyrone, Ga., won the $5,000 prize for winning the 604 Late Model feature. Knowles led all 20 laps of the race and took the checkered flag ahead of Monk Gullege and John Winge.

“I knew all week that it was going to be about getting a good starting spot and I really wanted this one,” Knowles said. “He’s a great man. Those first two were special, but this one is the reason we’re here. I was here last year and I was unlucky, but we got it. did this time. You really couldn’t ask for more with the track, this place is fast.

The dirt racing action continues at BMS during the month of April with NASCAR returning to the dirt with the Food City Dirt Race taking place under the lights on Easter Sunday April 17 and the Pinty’s Truck Race on Dirt on Saturday night, April 16. The World of Outlaws Bristol Bash, featuring both NOS Sprint Cars and Case Construction Late Models, returns to the high banks from April 28-30. This is the first time in history that the top two classes of World of Outlaws will face off on the same weekend.

Latest Model XR Super Series Results

  1. Dale McDowell
  2. chris madden
  3. Chris Fergusson
  4. Scott Bloomquist
  5. jimmy owen
  6. Earl Pearson Jr.
  7. Darrell Lanigan
  8. Ross Bailes
  9. Garrett Smith
  10. Ricky Weiss
  11. Brandon Shepard
  12. Kyle Bronson
  13. Mark the bleacher
  14. Kyle Strickler
  15. Ricky Thornton Jr.
  16. Dakotah Knuckles
  17. Jonathan Davenport
  18. Devin Moran
  19. Joseph Carpenter
  20. Jason Papic
  21. Kyle Larson
  22. Brandon Overton
  23. Shane Clanton
  24. mike marlar

Open Modified Results

  1. Michael Asberry
  2. Kyle Strickler
  3. Harris clay
  4. Zach Johnson
  5. Michael Thomas
  6. Jason Ingalls
  7. Jake Hartung
  8. Trevor Anderson
  9. Jonathan Olmscheid
  10. Phil Dixon
  11. Ryan Stiens
  12. Jason Beaulieu
  13. Tyler nicely
  14. Shad Badder
  15. Brandon Hutchinson
  16. Daniel Sanchez
  17. Richard Lentz
  18. Eddie Martin
  19. TJ Tolleson

604 Latest Model Results

  1. Jody Knowles
  2. Monk’s Chasm
  3. John Wing
  4. Jake Cheatham
  5. John Trowbridge
  6. Tommy Eastridge

Hornets Results

  1. Brandon Gibson Jr.
  2. John Windham
  3. Brandon Dalton
  4. Walker Windham
  5. Jake Benischek
  6. Jack Pflum
  7. Joe Pflum
  8. chuck fullenkamp
  9. Brad Chandler
  10. Ryan Eversol
  11. Nathan Chandler
  12. Pete Doxey
  13. Josh Barnes
  14. Jay Lowman
  15. Josh Lank
  16. Cyle Hawkins
  17. Harvey Yoder
  18. Clint Cox
  19. Brody Rivest
  20. Donavan Beach
  21. Colton St. John
  22. nate cooper
  23. Josh Lank Jr.
  24. Corey Crispin



About Author

Comments are closed.